We’ve been saving places for over four decades.

The Connecticut Trust for Historic Preservation is a nonprofit organization established by special acts of the State Legislature in 1975 and 1985 to preserve, protect, and promote the buildings, sites, and landscapes that contribute to the heritage and vitality of Connecticut communities.  Since then, the organization has become a successful champion of remarkable community assets across the state. 

In 1975, Harlan H. Griswold of Woodbury, Barbara S. Delaney of Chester, and John F. Reynolds III of Middletown incorporated the Trust.  Over time, interest in the Trust grew, and the board was expanded. Today, the Trust has 3 gubernatorial appointments and up to 30 additional board members.  The longest-serving executive director was Helen Higgins, and the current executive director is Jane Montanaro. The Trust has been headquartered since 1989 at the Eli Whitney Boarding House in Hamden.

Help us keep making history, preserving history.

And we’re still making history.  Over the years, we have:

Each year, we provide preservation assistance to 250 sites through our Circuit Rider program, catalog an average of 750 places through our surveys (on barns, mills, and artists’ sites), educate at least 1,000 people through our trainings and programs, and steward 35 permanent preservation easements on properties all over the state. 

Most importantly, we have helped people like you find their voice to advocate for and protect the places you care about most.  For this work, the Trust is recognized as the first and finest voice for preservation in Connecticut.

Become a Member or Donate Today!