The owner of 130 Bank Street (built around 1828) and 116 Bank Street (built around 1788) had applied for a demolition permit. Local advocacy organization New London Landmarks mobilized the Connecticut Trust and the State Historic Preservation Office. More than 1,500 people signed a petition protesting the demolition. When efforts to convince the property owner to explore alternatives to demolition failed, advocates worked to get a referral to the State Attorney General’s Office (AG).
Learn more about preservation law. Read more about this important fight below.
The Connecticut Trust is a trusted partner alongside national, state, and local groups. While lawsuits are a last resort, in this case it was a necessary one.